About us

The parish of St. Lawrence's consists of two communities - St. Lawrence's in Dingwall and St. Peter & St. Boniface in Fortrose. Previously St. Lawrences also served the community in Gairloch and St. Martin's in Ullapool.

Thumbnail images below can be clicked to view larger versions.

St. Lawrence's, Dingwall (click here for a map)

St Lawrence's interior

The drawings for the buildings of St. Lawrence's were penned by local architect William C. Joass in 1902; the church was built the same year. The Gothic style of the church is reminiscent of church design at the turn of the century. Due to the age of the church and the toll the Scottish weather has had on its structure, much needed renovation was carried out throughout the course of 1999. Renovation meant a completely new oak floor, new carpeting, new heating, lighting and PA systems, full repaint, all pews sanded and varnished and cushioned. Outside, the drive and parking area were resurfaced. The old stone crosses on the church roof had become unsafe and were replaced by Mr Jim Lewis in 2004 in remembrance of his late wife, Valerie. A storm in 2008 damaged the stained glass windows which were splendidly renovated by Rainbow Glass and in 2010 all the other leaded windows in the church were beautifully renovated by the same company.

The interior of the church mirrors the gothic style of the exterior. The beautiful altar is made of solid carrera marble, and the font of Aberdeen granite. The arches around the tabernacle and windows are finished in Kilcoy sandstone. To complement the new interior a new sound system was installed to maximise the acoustics of the church. The church was re-opened after renovation on Pentecost Sunday, 23 May, 1999. Mr Joseph Lloyd graciously furnished the church with a new organ in 1997 in remembrance of his late wife, Edna.

The baptismal font View from the loft Lilies

Above the altar are three beautiful stained glass windows of St. Jude, St. Lawrence and St. Anthony (from left to right) which were made by Dom Ninian Sloane, a Benedictine monk of Pluscarden Abbey. The windows commemorate Alexander and Isobel McMahon Macdonald. Dom Ninian selected the finest hand blown glass from Hartley Wood, antique glass in vibrant, unrepeatable colours unfortunately not made any more. German metals were melted into the chemistry of the glass to give it its glowing colour.

The Virgin Mary tapestry inside the door at the back of the church lists the parish priests who have cared for St. Lawrence's in its over one hundred year history.

The Virgin Mary Tapestry showing St Lawrences' clergy The Sacred Heart Station of the Cross Stained glass windows

The beautiful baptismal font, dedicated in memory of John Farquhar Thomson, came to Dingwall with its first parish priest, Father Alexander Thomson, brother of the deceased whose family owned Aberdeen University Press. The goldleaf inscription around the rim reads 'Of your charity pray for the soul of John Farquhar Thomson MA, Aberdeen. Born Jan 15, 1865, died March 1, 1889'. The pyramidal lid (not shown) on the font was carved in Black Forest oak by Brother Auer OSB of Fort Augustus Abbey whose brother was the third parish priest from 1914-1934, hitherto the longest serving parish priest in Dingwall. The shrines behind the Sacred Heart and Our Lady were also hand-carved in Black Forest Oak at approximately the same time by Brother Auer OSB.

St. Peter & St. Boniface, Fortrose (click here for a map)

The exterior of St. Peter and St. Boniface

St. Peter & St. Boniface serves the Black Isle communities of Avoch, Rosemarkie and Fortrose as well as the areas in between.

How to find us: leaving Inverness on the A9 heading north drive until you reach the Torr Roundabout. Take the fourth exit heading towards for Avoch and Fortrose. as you come into Fortrose drive along the Main Street and at the POST OFFICE turn right. The gable end of St Peters and St Boniface is directly in front of you.

The Altar The body of the church